Congratulations to Rotary’s Latest Scholarship Winners!

Posted By admin

The Rotary Club of Tuscaloosa and District 6860 is pleased every to award a range of generous scholarships to a number of deserving students, and this year was no exception. Rotarian Margaret King introduced another class to the club last Tuesday.


Emily Simon is the winner of our Club’s Frank Deaver Scholarship for 2012. Emily is a junior majoring in International Studies. She has been a cultural facilitator for the Culturally Speaking program of the English Language Institute and Vice President of Apwonjo, a club raising awareness of conditions in sub-Saharan Africa. She will use her scholarship for studies in Brussels. The Club also honors two Jack Seay Scholarship recipients for 2012. Owen Killeen is a sophomore majoring in Civil Engineering with minors in Spanish and mathematics, and still maintaining a 3.98 grade point average. He is an active member of Engineering Without Borders, and hopes to use his education to improve the lives of people around the world, whether through a multi-national corporation or voluntary service. Igor Herbey is pursuing degrees in International studies. He is the President and Founder of Future Leaders of Global Development and is the International Student Affairs Representative on the Student and Campus Life Committee. Not only is he fluent in French, but he also began a Russian tutoring program based through his residence hall. Lastly, the club is also pleased to announce the winner of the Spain Hickman Award. Funded by District 6880, the award goes to an international graduate student. The 2012 recipient is Chao-Hui Huang. Ms. Huang is a Ph.D. student in psychology from Taiwan. Her B.S. is in Biology and her masters is in Counseling Psychology. Her specialty is clinical geropsychology research is with the elderly African-American custodial grandparent community. She also serves the Tuscaloosa community as a Hospice volunteer, and the Chinese student community through leadership in the Tuscaloosa Chinese Christian Fellowship. Congratulations to all each of these fine scholars! Thanks as well to Margaret King for her leadership, and the work of her committee (Karen Baldwin; Stephen Bridgers; Lowell Davis; Bernard Harwood; Jim McLean; Terry Olivet; Kellee Reinhart; Loy Singleton and Jon Snider).

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.